Hang on Chicago, “We go for a ride”. Ahhh playing Indy means Indiana Jones quotes are acceptable right? The 1-3 Bears make the short road trip to Indianapolis to take on the 1-3 Colts. For some reason, many experts (including the entire ESPN staff) are picking the Colts as the winners of this match. Really? All of them? I think that is a little harsh considering how bad Indianapolis is this year thus far. Plus they lost week 1 against the Lions who the Bears just beat… I don’t know, maybe the Bears are not going to win, but I am shocked not one ESPN “expert” picked the Bears to win. Here are my keys to victory and game prediction.

Hand the ball to Jordan Howard and good things will happen. Plain and simple really. I have raved about Howard all season and continue to believe he is the future for the Bears running game. Heck, he may even be the now of the running game. Howard will be making his second start over the injured Jeremy Langford. He went to school at the University of Indiana and I predict he will put up the numbers he had in college (which were all mostly dominant) against a really weak Colts defense. Howard has already given us Bears fans great hope and I predict after facing a terrible defense in the Colts, he will continue to give reasons to be excited for the future.

Crush Luck. It is no secret that the Colts have had problems protecting Luck this season. The up and coming Bears defense needs to exploit this and create pressure early. The Bears secondary seems to be improving and I have been really impressed with the play of cornerbacks Deiondre’ Hall and Bryce Callahan. However, Andrew Luck still has the potential to be dangerous. Let’s not forget what this man has done in the past. That being said, the Bears need to put pressure on him early and keep the Colts offense on the field as little as possible.

Image result for chicago bears indianapolis colts

 

Dominant but yet intelligent offense. Under Brian Hoyer, the Bears offense has only had 1 turnover in 2 games (a fluky fumble against Dallas… We shouldn’t even really count it). With not having a dominant defense, it is important for the Bears to control the clock and not create dumb turnovers. We saw this a lot last year and I’m not sure why the Bears decided to wait till Hoyer was the starter to continue with this plan. With the Colts having a bad defense, let’s see Hoyer continuing to find his favorite targets in Alshon Jeffery, Eddie Royal, and ZACH MILLER. Kevin White getting hurt again really was disappointing news. He was just starting to settle in and look like a decent receiver. Hopefully his replacement from Berwyn IL, Cameron Meredith, can step in and get the job done. I have been really impressed with the 24 year old and think Meredith has a lot to offer (His nickname should be the “Berwyn Bully”). Let’s hope the Bears can put up big numbers and demonstrate that the receiving core is still pretty legitimate even without Kevin White.

Game Prediction: Bears 30 Colts 24. I think the Bears take an early lead, the Colts battle back in the second half, but the Bears manage to get a late score and take the W home. I predict Jordan Howard will look like an absolute BEAST out there and put up over 125 yards and a TD. I think Hoyer will find Zach Miller for another TD…. Funny, I predicted all along that Zach Miller was an elite TE and everyone laughed at me…. NOW he is ranked number 4 overall for tight ends in fantasy and multiple people have asked me “should I start Zach Miller this week?” DAMN RIGHT YOU SHOULD! Miller is the best TE option for all fantasy leagues this week. Expect him to put up crazy numbers. I also predict Alshon Jeffery will finally get his first TD of the season. He is well overdue and I think he finally gets it done. I think the defense will continue to improve and will rattle Luck early and then play good enough for the Bears to walk away with this one.

Miller Lite Prediction: 5. It’s Miller Time Chicago, I let everyone down last week and promise to crush Millers all weekend long. 5 may seem like a low number, but that is because I want to laugh at how many more Millers I drink than 5. Maybe we can get a video of me for every Miller I have? Now that is great for real-estate  my friends.

